On being different

Hi

To all those with Aspergers, Autism and all related diversities of mind, and their friends and family:

I always knew I was different.  From my pre-school days when I learned to read and write, and the other children looked up to me, which made me feel guilty and diffident.  I always had my various special interests in looking up stuff.  But I was shy to put up my hand even if I knew I was the only one in the class that knew some of the answers…

I excelled in primary school as it was all about facts and figures.  I battled in high school, as I was constantly teased and made to feel outcast.  I also battled with my subjects as now I had to supply detailed answers to questions and I frankly preferred to pursue my own interests!

At age 45 I was finally diagnosed as having Aspergers.  Now everything fell into place and made sense.  From then I made it a goal of mine to share my experiences, help and motivate others in the same boat, and use my own experiences to help others understand their “weirdness” better.

As Tolkien said

The Road goes ever on and on

Down from the Door where it began

Now far ahead the Road has gone

And I must follow, if I can

Pursuing it with weary feet

Until it joins some larger way

Where many paths and errands meet

And whither then?  I cannot say.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

